Click to enlarge


The Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (National Center for Scientific Research) is a public organization under the responsibility of the French Ministry of Higher Education and Research. 

Founded in 1939 by governmental decree, CNRS has the following missions:

  • To evaluate and carry out all research capable of advancing knowledge and bringing social, cultural, and economic benefits for society.
  • To contribute to the application and promotion of research results.
  • To develop scientific information.
  • To support research training.
  • To participate in the analysis of the national and international scientific climate and its potential for evolution in order to develop a national policy.


Solvay, international chemical Group, offering a broad range of products that contribute to improving quality of life and the performance of its customers.

The story of the Solvay group began in 1861, when Ernest Solvay discovered the key to the «industrial manufacture of soda ash using sea salt, ammoniac and carbonic acid». In 1863, Ernest Solvay patented a revolutionary ammonia-soda process for producing sodium carbonate which is still widely used today for glass, washing powder and flue gas cleaning. The first soda factory started operating in Couillet, Belgium in 1865. From 1870 to 1880, Solvay promoted the global expansion of the company. Factories were set up in Belgium, France, England, Germany, Russia and the United States.

Today, Solvay is an international industrial Group active in chemistry, with three sectors of activity: Chemicals and Plastics and Rhodia. The latter was acquired in September 2011.



The École Normale Supérieure de Lyon (also known as ENS Lyon, ENSL or Normale Sup' Lyon) is a highly selective grande école located in Lyon, France. As one of France's three Écoles normales supérieures, ENS Lyon is associated with a strong French tradition of excellence and public service. It trains researchers and teachers in the sciences and the humanities. It is considered as one of the three most prestigious and best French universities along with its sister the "École Normale Supérieure de Paris" and the École Polytechnique, and is ranked as the 100th in the world.

University of Lille

University of Lille

IIn Lille, the University has deep roots in the past. The first University was created in Douai in 1562 by the King of Spain. It only became French in 1712. Then the revolutionary period and the following regimes made it hard for the University to exist. The real rebirth of the University, as it is known nowadays, dates back to 1854 with the creation of the Faculty of Science in Lille under the aegis of Louis Pasteur. The Faculty knew a real development that led to the creation in 1967 of a modern University outside the city, known as the “Cité Scientifique”: a vast green campus, linked to the centre of Lille thanks to “the automatic subway”, an innovation developed in Lille 1University’s research labs. There are other locations of Lille 1 University: the management school in the oldest part of Lille city and the Marine Department in Wimereux, close to the sea.



Unité de catalyse et de chimie du solide de Lille (Laboratory of Catalysis and Solid State Chemistry - UCCS) is a French research laboratory (UMR CNRS 8181) focused on process engineering and chemical engineering. It is located in Lille, Lens and Béthune and is a part of Université Lille Nord de France. It is affiliated to the Institut des molécules et de la matière condensée de Lille (IMMCL-Chevreul). UCCS research teams support academic activities in the following sites of the Université Lille Nord de France and are sponsored by CNRS:

  • École centrale de Lille 
  • École nationale supérieure de chimie de Lille 
  • Lille University of Science and Technology 
  • Artois University


Founded in Shanghai in October 1951, East China Normal University (ECNU) is one of the most prestigious universities in China and is sponsored by the national programs “Project 211” and “Project 985”.

With two campuses located in Minhang and Putuo District, and with a total area of over 207 hectares, ECNU has long been reputed as a "Garden University" for its beautiful campus scenes.

Since China opened up to the world in 1978, ECNU has developed at a breathtaking pace into a comprehensive research university. At present, the University has 21 schools and colleges, and 5 advanced research institutes, with 58 departments offering 70 undergraduate programs in humanities, education, science, engineering, economics, management, philosophy, psychology, law, history and art. Besides that, the University also offers 26 doctoral programs of the State Primary Disciplines, 38 master's programs of the State Primary Disciplines, one professional doctoral program, 17 professional master's programs and 18 post-doctoral mobile research stations

Fudan University


Initially known as "Fudan Public School", Fudan University was founded in the year 1905. "Fudan", literally meaning "(heavenly light shines) day after day", indicates inexhaustible self-reliance and industriousness.

Fudan consists of 28 schools and departments, with seventy undergraduate disciplines. The University confers bachelor's degrees in seventy academic disciplines, and master's degrees in two hundred and twenty nine disciplines (with fifty-one of them established by the University itself), and doctoral degrees in twenty-four Level I and one hundred and fifty-four Level II academic disciplines (with thirty of them established by the University itself). There are also twenty-nine research stations that offer postdoctoral fellowships.

Fudan boasts a qualified faculty of over 2,678 full-time teachers and researchers, including 1,400 full professors and associate professors, 36 academicians of the Chinese Academy of Sciences and the Chinese Academy of Engineering, 53 chair professors and 30 lecture professors of the Cheungkong Scholars Program, 17 chief scientists of Project 973. In the recent years, the University has been proactive in recruiting youthful strengths and optimizing the echelon of its faculty. Fudan has ten teaching hospitals, such as Zhong-shan (Dr. Sun Yat-san) Hospital and Hua-shan (Mount Lotus) Hospital, which offer quality medical service to the general public, conduct clinical education to student doctors and perform advanced scientific researches.